Besides writing, my other artistic love is photography, but until ~5 years ago, I had no formal instruction in the field. And then I saw a prospectus for a photography class offered by the local university. 

“Why not?” I asked myself. So, I signed up. I was totally excited and utterly nervous, but it was one of the best decisions I ever made. My fondest memories of San Diego are inherently tied with that course. One Saturday, in particular, comes to mind. I was up early to start on the assigned weekly homework (entitled “Texture”), because I knew my favorite haunting ground is best photographed when the light is soft and the crowds thin.   

I can never fully explain why I take photographs in a certain way. Rule of 3rds and manual settings aside, I’m almost embarrassingly governed by gut feelings when I look through the viewfinder. I guess my photographs are the poems my brain is too lazy to put into words. So, I give you: The Flowers of Balboa Park. 🙂

Response to Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember

© 2011 The Newbie Blog All Rights Reserved (photos)

© 2014 When the Door Closes All Rights Reserved

