Deserts have fascinated me more this year than previous others. I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s the changeable landscapes. Deserts are never exactly the same hour to hour. Or perhaps it’s the solitude. After 30 minutes into a hike, most other travelers fall by the wayside and nothing but the wind breaks the silence of the land. And I? I’m reduced to a tiny dot in a vast, living mural. I suspect my obsession is fueled by both!

In April, I had planned a themed week of posts, but it was too chaotic a month, and a desert’s caprice and tranquility would have been lost in the shuffle of the A-Z Challenge and NaPoWriMo. So, I hope you’ll indulge me this week while I showcase Death Valley, and what better way to begin than a photograph of the desert and its dunes?

Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes, Death Valley National Park
Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes, Death Valley National Park

 

©2015 V. del Casal All Rights Reserved

